Friends of Library and Archives Canada Francais
Friends of Library and Archives Canada
Home News Acquisitions How You Can Help Shop About Us
Acquisitions

Featured Acquisitions


View Summary of Acquisitions over the years
Learn More About The Peter Winkworth Collection
Explore James Cook Manuscript Map



How Do Acquisitions Happen?

The focus for acquisitions, of course, is on rare and significant items about Canada or Canadians or items created or produced in Canada. The process begins with a meeting, approximately every year, of a small group of knowledgeable Friends to consider possible purchases for donation to LAC (Library Archives Canada). They meet with expert librarians and archivists from LAC who are aware of what items are currently available or being offered for sale and appreciate how such items might fit into one or more of the LAC collections (Rare Books, Maps, ...).

An important consideration for both the Friends and the LAC experts is the significance of the item to Canadian culture or history. Whether an item will help to fill a gap in LAC holdings is also important. A rare Canadian first edition will always be important to LAC librarians and LAC archivists will yearn for a previously unknown album of World War I photographs or a long forgotten movie poster.

Funds are always scarce and it is often difficult to make a choice, knowing that buying one rare item will mean letting another slip away. Once the decision is made, however, the Friends are elated and members are always eager for the announcement of the purchase or purchases at the Annual General Meeting.

Check out all of the acquisitions the Friends have made over the years and donated to LAC.

 

 

Sitemap News Your support is welcome

 

Privacy Policy - Site Map - Terms of Use - Contact Us

Accueil Nouvelles Acquisitions Aidez nous Boutique À notre sujet
Acquisitions

Acquisitions-vedettes


  - La collection Peter Winkworth -
  - Carte manuscrite de James Cook -



Processus d'acquisition

Les pièces rares et d'importance concernant le Canada et les Canadiens, ainsi que les objets créés ou produits au Canada constituent bien sûr le cœur des acquisitions. Le processus débute par une réunion annuelle d'un petit groupe d'Amis avisés qui examinent les diverses possibilités d'acquisitions en vue d'effectuer un don à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC). Puis, ces membres consultent des bibliothécaires et des archivistes experts de BAC au courant de pièces disponibles sur le marché ou mises aux enchères à ce moment-là, et évaluent la pertinence d'ajouter ces articles aux collections de l'institution (livres rares, cartes...).

Tant les Amis que les experts de BAC accordent une grande importance au fait que le document comporte un intérêt pour la culture ou l'histoire canadiennes. Une acquisition qui permet de combler un vide dans les collections de BAC constitue aussi un critère déterminant. Une première édition canadienne rare revêt toujours un cachet particulier pour les bibliothécaires de BAC et un album de photographies de la Première Guerre mondiale inconnues à ce jour ou une affiche de cinéma oubliée depuis longtemps ravira les archivistes de l'institution.

Le budget est toujours restreint et il est souvent difficile de faire un choix, car acquérir une pièce rare signifie en mettre une autre de côté. Néanmoins, une fois la décision prise, les Amis en sont enchantés et les membres sont toujours avides d'apprendre les détails de cet ou ces achats à l'assemblée générale annuelle.

Prenez connaissance des acquisitions réalisées par les Amis et offertes à BAC au fil des ans.

 

 

Carte du site Nouvelles

 

Politique de confidentialité - Carte du site - Conditions d’utilisation - Contactez-nous - Mediaforce